Interesting Facts About Bolivia’s Sports

Did You Know…

Like Un Yong Kim (South Korea), Sheik Fahad Al-Sabah (Kuwait) and Joao Havelange (Brazil), Jos Gamarra Zorrilla was one of the most amazing Olympic forerunners in the Third World. He assumed a significant part in advancing the upsides of sports in Bolivia and Latin America. Jos committed his life to battle against lack of concern to sports and the woeful state of the competitors in Bolivia. His nation is one of the Third World’s least fortunate nations. Besides, Bolivia has had a record 194 endeavored overthrows. Nonetheless, under his administration, a few global congress and occasions were coordinated in La Paz, Cochabamba, Oruro and Santa Cruz de la Sierra. Jos was leader of the Organizing Committee of the La Paz Bolivarian Games (1977) and for the South American Games in Bolivia (1978). As leader of the Bolivian Olympic Committee (1970-1982), he drove Bolivia to the best outcome ever in its set of experiences: 106 awards in the South American Games. He headed the Bolivian assignment at the Summer Olympics in Munich, West Germany. Numerous South Americans think about Jos Gamarra Zorrilla as the best South American Olympic head of the twentieth century.

This nation had extraordinary sportspersons: Mario Martinez (tennis), Alan Saunders (nordic skiing), Milton Coimbra (football), Maria Ortuno (ball), Giovanna Morejon Irusta (games), Ramiro Benavides (tennis), Anthony Iglesias (jumping), Johnny Prez (games), Scott Sanchez Saunders (nordic skiing), Oswaldo Morejon (olympic style events), William Arencibia (taekwondo), Erwin Snchez (football), Ricardo Ramos (nordic skiing), Guadalupe Yaez (b-ball), Betty Saavedra (b-ball), Juan Rodrigo Camacho (games), Marco Etcheverry (football), Katherine Moreno (swimming), Roberto Nielsen Reyes (equestrian) and Billy Farwing Aranoa (nordic skiing).

Bolivia sent 7 sportspeople to the Winter Olympic Games in 1988. The South American skiers were Manuel Aramayo, Guillermo Avila Paz, Jaime Bascon, Jorge Bejarano, Enrique Montao, Pedro Tichaver and Luis Vizcarra.

Julia Iriarte is the best Bolivian competitor ever. Why? She won 5 gold and 3 silver awards at the 1947 Bolivarian Games in Lima, Peru. She turned into the star of the Games. Her gold awards were in the 80m obstacles, disk toss, shot put, long leap and high leap. Her homecoming was a tremendous achievement . After she was welcomed by president Enrrique Hertzog to the Government Palace (Palacio Quemado). She likewise won five gold decorations in the South American Athletics Championships in La Paz in 1948. Under her mentor, George Voeg , she broke a few public records during the 1940s. Lamentably, she didn’t contend at the 1948 Olympic Games in Helsinki (Finland). She was brought into the world in Cochabamba, Bolivia on December 20, 1919 to Placido Iriarte and Clara Velasco. สมัครแทงบอล

Bolivia partook at the 1979 Spartakiade of the Nations of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR).

From 1980 to 1984, the Bolivian government obliterated the game. The South American competitors were not permitted to contend in the Olympics in 1980. Numerous sportspeople who had prepared for a really long time for the Games felt extraordinary dissatisfaction. Among these competitors were: Johnny Prez (olympic style sports), Luis Dario Vasquez (fencing), Mary Rojas (games), Walter Quiroga (shooting), Linda Spents (olympic style events), Isidro Guarachi (boxing), Walter Quispe (boxing), Edgar Cueto (cycling), Jean Young Kim Song (judo) and Antonieta Arizaga (swimming). Amusingly, the USSR – have Olympic country sponsored Third World’s Olympic groups (Tanzania – one of the Africa’s most unfortunate nations sent 41 sportspersons). For political reasons, Bolivia additionally didn’t take an interest in the 1983 Pan American Games in Caracas (Venezuela). Interestingly starting around 1971, competitors from Bolivia didn’t participated in a Pan American. Not at all like competitors from Haiti, Nicaragua, Chad and Sierra Leone ,Bolivian competitors had issues to go to Olympics Games in 1984.

Johnny Perez partook in the 1978 South American Games in La Paz, Bolivia, winning three gold awards in games, in 1,500m, 5,000m and 3,000m steeplechase.

The La Paz Olympic Stadium is one of the most current in Latin America and the Caribbean. Among the competitors who have contended in the Olympic Stadium are Romario de Souza Faria (soccer/Brazil), Joao Carlos de Oliveira (sports/Brazil), Jos Luis Chilavert (soccer/Paraguay), Tito Stenier (games/Argentina), Edith Noeding (olympic style events/Peru) and Carlos Caetano Bledron Verri (soccer/Brazil).

Giovanna Morejon Irusta completed sixteenth in the 20-kilometer stroll at the 2003 World Athletics Championships in Paris, France.

Katherine Moreno was probably the most youthful swimmer at the 1988 Olympic Games in Seoul.

The Bolivian group won the silver decoration at the South American Basketball Championship and qualified for the World Women’s Basketball Championship in 1978 in Seoul (South Korea). Bolivia qualified for a world competition for the main time.The courageous women were: Janeth Blanco Saavedra, Betty Saavedra Zaconeta, Daysy Chucatini Torrico, Liceo Rojas Arteaga, Norma Zambrano Siles, Elizabeth Navia Ledesma, Guadalupe Yaez Heredia, Tania Claros Vargas, Antonieta Gudmanson Torres, Judith Quiones Miranda and Vania Claros de Justinino.

Bolivia sent just a single competitor (Fernando Inchauste Montalvo/kayak) to the Summer Olympics in 1960.

From 1971 to 1979, 500 Bolivian competitors partook in global competitions and contests.

Like Hortencia Maria de Fatima Marcari (Brazil) and Carol Turney (Canada), Guadalupe Yaez was one of the most mind-blowing ball players in the 1979 Pan American Games in San Juan de Puerto Rico.

Erwin Sanchez was perhaps the main football player in Bolivia during the 1990s.

From 1975 to 1977, a greater number of than 25 unfamiliar mentors assisted with preparing Bolivian sportspeople in anticipation of the worldwide contests (Olympic Games, Bolivarian Games, Pan American Games and South American Games). The mentors were: Bornj Wangemann (games/West Germany), Mike Lucero (b-ball/USA), Paul Gonzalez (b-ball/USA), Stanislav Golubkov (boxing/USSR), Heriberto Diaz (cycling/Mexico), Pedro Escobar (equestrian/Chile), Stanislav Spyra (fencing/Poland), Walter Madel (fencing/West Germany), Eduardo Virba (football/West Germany), Dale Cutler (vaulting/USA), Donald Howorth (acrobatic/USA), Pedro Ortega (aerobatic/Mexico), Jasuhido Takasuka (judo/Japan), Benigno Marquez (wrestling/Venezuela), Karol Czarkoswki (weightlifting/Poland), Wu Yu Yung (swimming/Taiwan), Yadwiga Czarkoswka (swimming/Poland), Adolfo Coronado (swimming/Ecuador), Francis Conway (shooting/USA), Nicolay Durnev (shooting/USSR), Cselaw Gajdamovicz (volleyball/Poland), Tien Heing Hisch (volleyball/China), Chiu Chiao Chi (volleyball/Taiwan) and Lin Chou Nou (volleyball/China).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *